Incumbents take three-year BBOED terms; Ryan wins two-year term

Incumbents Mary Jane Desmond, Carol Cruden, and Denis Wilbeck were re-elected to three-year terms on the Bayonne Board of Education, with newcomer Charles Ryan picking up the two-year term vacated by Barry Kushnir.
Wilbeck, former Bayonne High School vice principal, led all candidates with 6,239 votes and 22.34 percent of votes cast. Desmond, a former member of the Bayonne City Council, came in with 5,093 votes and 18.24 percent of the vote. Cruden, a former Bayonne School District Director of Nurses, won with 2,801 votes and 10 percent of the vote. Newcomer Charles Ryan, a retired Bayonne Deputy Police Chief, won the lone two-year term with 3,713 votes, and 42.39 percent of the two-year vote.
The trustees take office in January, except for Ryan who will fill Kushnir’s vacancy on November 9. He will assume his two-year term in January.
For full results, see the Hudson County Clerk’s live election site:

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group