Ask the Ump!


QUESTION: In high school, baseball and softball, batter assumes stance in box with right foot partially on back line and partially outside the rear line of the box prior to a pitch. Legal position? Should umpire direct batter to get in box or wait until pitch is thrown to see result of play?

ANSWER: In taking stance, batter must have foot completely within box and not touching any ground outside box. Lines are considered in the box. Plate umpire shall direct batter to get completely within box as a preventative measure prior to pitch. ( BB- Rule 7, Sec. 3, Art. 2, Casebook A; SB- Rule 7, Sec. 4, Art. 8, a Casebook ).

QUESTION: Batter hits a foul tip while foot touches home plate. Legal action ?

ANSWER: Illegal action; ball is dead and batter is called out for making contact with pitched ball and touching plate / being out of box. (BB- Rule 7, Sec. 3, Art. 2 ; SB- Rule 7, Sec. 4, Art. 8).
If batter swung and missed pitch and contacted home plate, no violation is called.

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group