AFC claims second crown as Bayonne Babe Ruth League champions

AFC defeated Beilan Law in two impressive come-from-behind victories by scores of 4-2 and 4-3 to end the regular season with a first-place finish, and a buy into the 2015 Bayonne Babe Ruth Championship best-of-three series. AFC would face Dr. Condo’s for the title battle, who defeated Beilan Law in a one elimination game play-off.
AFC defended their 2014 title and defeated Dr. Condo’s on two consecutive evenings by the scores of 14-2 in game one, and 16-2 in the final game two at 16th Street Park field to take the crown as back-to-back Bayonne Babe Ruth Champions.
In game one, winning pitcher Emilio Ortiz was in control on the mound for AFC allowing 2 runs on 4 hits over four innings. Steven Racki was called on to take the mound in the fifth inning in relief of Ortiz, and struck out the side for the victory. Dr. Condo’s scored an unearned run in the first inning for their only lead of the game, and what would be their only lead of the series. AFC catcher Andy Lopez started the AFC scoring with an RBI single in the bottom half of the inning to tie the score at 1. AFC held a 4-2 lead in the top of the third, and broke the game open in their bottom half of the inning with 6 runs highlighted by centerfielder Richie Torres’ 2 RBI single. AFC would tack on another 5 runs to end the scoring on the evening for the 14-2 victory. Hitting stars for AFC were Torres 2 hits – 3 RBI’s , Lopez 2 hits – 1 RBI, Dylan Sadiq 2 hits – 1 RBI, Alex Lambos 1 hit – 3 RBI’s, Vincent Calderone 1 hit – 2 RBI’s, and Ray Ortiz and Kevin Lazaro 1 hit – 1 RBI each.
In game two, winning pitcher Dylan Sadiq was also impressive on the mound for AFC allowing 2 runs on 2 hits. AFC took control from the start with 6 runs on 4 hits and 3 walks in their top half of the first inning which led them to a 16-2 final and repeat as Bayonne Babe Ruth Champions. Third baseman Gilbert “Macho” Diaz lead the AFC batters with a 2 for 2 evening and 4 RBI’s, Richie Torres 2 hits – 3 RBI’s , catcher Andy Lopez 2 hits – 2 RBI’s, second baseman Emilio Ortiz 2 hits – 1 RBI, and Sadiq, shortstop James Ashe, leftfielder Steven Racki with 1 hit and 1 RBI apiece.
Congratulations to manager Tony Costantino and his staff – Izzy Delgado, Billy Grapstul, Pete Siebel, Arty Lambos, Alex Czerwienski and junior scorekeeper Antonio Calderone for their hard work and dedication throughout the season.

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group