Secaucus re-elects two school board incumbents, and adds board newcomer

SECAUCUS – On Tuesday, Secaucus residents voted to return two incumbents to the nine-member school board: current Vice President Jack McStowe and member Kathy O’Connell. Also winning was a member of a third slate, Sharon Dellafave.
McStowe has been on the board for nine years. He has lived in Secaucus since 1974. He is also currently the director of the Secaucus soccer program, and has been for 18 years. He said he’s also working on implementing a full-day of school for preschool students. At the end of the election McStowe said, “I’m going to continue doing what I’ve been doing for nine years. I’ll continue to serve the students of Secaucus.”
O’Connell was born and raised in Secaucus.O’Connell is currently teaching in Union City at Union Hill Middle School. She said the way to improve student education is to continue to develop new and veteran teachers’ skills. At the end of the election O’Connell said, “I’m very excited to serve the children and town.”
Retired Secaucus High School English teacher Sharon Dellafave said a way she’d like to improve student education through better communication between students, administrators, and parents. Dellafave said, “I’m going to study hard to be the best board member I can. I will always put the students first and foremost. We have a lot of work to do, but I believe we can do it.”

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group