Serve and Spike


QUESTION: In high school volleyball, front row players Case and Dodd on Team (A) both go up for a block as ball contacts the wrists of both players. Is this a legal contact? Is this a double hit? Does contact count as a first hit?

ANSWER: Legal play as this is considered a collective block. If ball remains in Team (A)’s court, squad is permitted three more hits as block does not count as a hit. (Rule 9, Sec. 4, Art. 6; Rule 9, Sec. 5, Art. 1, c (3).

QUESTION: During a hard driven spike by Team (A), the ball crosses the net contacting player (B)’s wrist and then bounces off his / her shoulder. Is this a multiple contact violation?

ANSWER: Although there were multiple contacts on a player’s first hit, this is a legal play. Team (B) has two remaining hits. If there was prolonged contact by player, a violation would be called. (Rule 9, Sec. 4, Art. 8, a & b).

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group