Ask the Ump!


QUESTION: In high school baseball only, during delivery the pitcher drops the ball. Subsequently, the pitcher picks up the ball before it passes the foul line. Is this considered a no pitch or is a ball awarded to the batter?

ANSWER: No pitch is the call. If ball crossed foul line, this would be considered a pitch and a ball awarded to batter provided no runners on base. If there were runners on base, a balk would be called if pitch did not cross the foul line; ball would be called on batter if ball crossed the foul line. ( BB- Rule 6, Sec. 1, Art. 4).

QUESTION: In high school softball only, with a runner on first base; pitcher drops the ball during delivery. Pitch is rolling toward home plate. Is the ball live or dead? Does the batter have an opportunity to swing at the dropped pitch? Can the runner advance on this dropped delivery? Is this a No Pitch play?

ANSWER: The ball remains live and in play; batter may indeed swing at pitch or wait for ball to cross foul line to be awarded a ball in count. Runner may advance on release of pitch (SB- Rule 6, Sec. 2, Art. 6, exception).

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group