Ask the Ump!


QUESTION: In high school baseball only, no runner on base; during delivery the pitch is dropped by pitcher who picks up ball from ground prior to ball passing the foul line. Is this considered a pitch, no pitch or illegal pitch?

ANSWER: No pitch is the call. If pitch crossed the foul line, a ball would be called on the batter. (Rule 6, Sec. 1, Art. 4).

QUESTION: In high school softball only, bases loaded, no count on the batter, pitcher takes her signal and makes a motion to pitch but does not release ball as her feet get tangled on pitching plate. Is this a pitch, no pitch or illegal pitch play?

ANSWER: Illegal pitch is the call; a ball is awarded the batter and all runners advance one base. A pitch begins when one hand is taken off the ball or pitcher makes a motion as part of windup after her hands have come together. When an illegal pitch occurs and no pitch is delivered to batter, this is considered a dead ball play with penalty assessed as listed above. (Rule 5, Sec. 1, Art. 1p; Rule 6, Sec. 1, Art. 2 a,b).

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group