Ballance, Easwar lead Chargers to Playoff Win

One step away from a shot at the JCC of Bayonne’s indoor flag football 2015 Sr. Division “Championship” game, the (4-8) Bengals and the (4-8) Chargers took to the court for a playoff duel. Jumping out to a 16-0 lead, the Chargers used the airways as Harsh Easwar (1TD), Tristen Johnson (2 expts), and Ryan Ballance (1TD, 2 expts) each hauled in scores. Turning to the Giron brothers, the Bengals made it a 16-8 bout on an Ian Giron TD and an Andres Giron 2 point run. With the Bengals hot on their heels, the Chargers kicked into high gear as QB Chris Ballance tossed a TD to Harsh Easwar while a Tristen Johnson to Ryan Ballance option pass put the Chargers up 28-8. Returning to their leading scorer, Andres Giron, the Bengals found paydirt on a 40 yard TD gallop while Kasper Hooks’2 point catch made it 28-16, Chargers. After a solid defensive stand, the Bengals threw a scare into the Chargers’ defensive ranks as QB Alejandro Cifuentes unleashed two full court bombs to wide open receivers only to have both passes dropped in the endzone. After dodging the bullets, the Chargers worked the ball up court with Matt and Mike Piscopo heading the advance to set up a leaping TD grab by Ryan Ballance. Down 34-16, the Bengals got a huge defensive stop as Kyle Arano picked off a pass in his own endzone. Firing away until the final whistle, the Bengals couldn’t close the gap as the Chargers advanced to the “Championship” round with a 34-16 victory.

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group