Lawson loses Bayonne school board presidency, resigns

BAYONNE — A seismic shift occurred on the Bayonne Board of Education on Thursday, Jan. 7, as longtime President Will Lawson was not reelected to that post at the board’s reorganization meeting.
Instead, newly elected board member Joseph Broderick was voted into the position by a 6-2 vote. Broderick, Ava Finnerty, Mikel Lawandy, Christopher Munoz, Christopher Piechocki, and Denis Wilbeck voted in favor. Lawson and Ted Garelick voted against Broderick’s appointment as president.
Broderick is a former Bayonne School District administrator.
There were only eight board members present at the BBOE meeting, as former Vice President Ava Mitchell resigned her post the week before.
Following Broderick’s installment as president, the board elected Wilbeck vice president, replacing Mitchell in that post.
On Friday, Jan. 8, Lawson, who had one year left on his term, resigned from the board, according to a report on
Lawson’s and Mitchell’s spots on the board will be filled later in the year.

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group