6th Ward Councilwoman Jen Giattino takes the gavel as Hoboken council president

HOBOKEN – The Hoboken City Council reorganization meeting on Monday, Jan. 4 saw a shift in the council dynamic with new council members and a new council president.

6th Ward Councilwoman Jen Giattino was sworn in and was voted in to replace Councilman Ravi Bhalla as the council president. She has previously served in the position in 2014.

Giattino is one of seven candidates who make up Mayor Dawn Zimmer’s 7-9 “super majority” on the municipal board.

The council members sworn in to new terms included 1st Ward Councilman Michael DeFusco, 2nd Ward Councilwoman Tiffanie Fisher, 3rd Ward Councilman Michael Russo, 4th Ward Councilman Ruben Ramos Jr. and 5th Ward Councilman Cunningham.

Russo and Ramos Jr. were the only candidates not backed by Zimmer who won in the November election. Bhalla and Councilmen James Doyle and David Mello have at-large seats with terms that end in 2017.

Mello retained his position as vice president of the City Council.

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group