Ask the Ump!


QUESTION: In high school, baseball and softball, runner on first base; batter lofts a fair fly ball to left field which is caught by outfielder. Runner advanced past second without properly tagging up. In retreating back to first base, is runner required to retouch second? Is runner automatically called out if he/ she does not retouch base?
ANSWER: While ball is in play, runner must retouch base in reverse order. If runner does not retouch on return, the defense must appeal in order for an out to be recorded. (BB- Rule 8, Sec. 2, Art. 2; SB- Rule 8, Sec. 3, Art. 2, effect).
QUESTION: Batter-runner hits a home run over the fence. Is batter-runner required to touch all bases even though the ball is dead?
ANSWER: An advancing runner shall touch bases in proper order including awarded bases. Home run is considered a four base award. (BB- Rule 8, Sec. 2, Art. 1.) (SB- Awarded bases must be run legally) (Rule 8, Sec. 3, Art. 1 & 11).

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group