Bayonne municipal runoffs on Tuesday, June 10 to decide five seats

BAYONNE – The campaign for Bayonne mayor – and for four council posts – will come to an end on Tuesday, June 10, as city voters have their final say.
Bayonne’s municipal election runoffs will settle five of the six races originally contested on May 13.
Either Mayor Mark Smith or challenger Police Capt. James Davis will gain the mayoralty through the runoff.
Council members in the Second and Third wards and at-large posts will also be chosen.
In the at-large runoff, where two positions are available, Council President Terrence Ruane and Councilwoman Debra Czerwienski, both on Smith’s ticket, will square off against Juan Perez and Sharon Nadrowski, both on Davis’s slate.
In the Second Ward, Councilman Joseph Hurley (Smith) and Salvatore Gullace (Davis) will compete against each other.
The Third Ward council race has Councilman Ray Greaves (Smith) battling against Gary La Pelusa (Davis).
Polls will be open from 6 a.m. until 8 p.m. — Joseph Passantino

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group