Net play

Question: In high school volleyball, is it legal for a player to contact the net as long as there is no interference with an opponent’s attempt to play the ball?
Answer: Illegal contact; net foul is called. Players are not allowed to contact the net, antennas or net cables. Los of rally/point is awarded opponent. (Rule 9, Sec. 6, Art. 7(a))
Question: During net play, the force of the ball hit by player on Team (S) pushes the net into the front row player on Team (R) causing net contact by opponent. Is this a net foul?
Answer: This is not considered a net violation, but rather incidental contact by opponent without penalty. Ball remains in play. (Rule 9, Sec. 6, Art. 7(a))


© 2000, Newspaper Media Group