QUESTION: In high school volleyball, server on Team (S) tosses ball above head, swings but misses the ball which falls to the floor. Referee (R1) whistles and signals a re-serve. Correct call?
ANSWER: Re-serve is the correct call as the server did not make contact with tossed ball; hence, a second opportunity is granted to server. If ball contacted server’s shoulder during swing and miss, re-serve would not be granted; hence, illegal serve would be called with loss of rally / point awarded to opponent (Rule 8, Sec. 1, Art. 6).
QUESTION: If server tosses ball for serve but allows ball to drop to floor without attempting to swing at ball. Referee (R1) whistles and signals a re-serve. Correct call?
ANSWER: Correct call; no attempt was made to serve the ball. (Rule 8-1-6).