Mukherji, Chaparro clinch Dem nomination for State Assembly District 33; Turnout anemic

HOBOKEN–Discouraged by soggy skies and a lack of competitive races, a mere 1,157 Hoboken residents voted in the June 2 primary for the Democratic and Republican nominees for Hudson County Executive and State Assemblymen for District 33, according to preliminary numbers released by the Hoboken City Clerk’s Office.
For the two Assembly seats in District 33, which includes Hoboken, Weehawken, Union City, and parts of northern Jersey City, Raj Mukherji and Annette Chaparro ran unopposed for the Democrats and Garrett Simulcik, Jr. and Javier Sosa ran unopposed for the Republicans.
In Hoboken, Chaparro received 750 votes, Mukherji received 681, Sosa received 87, and Simulcik received 85, according to the preliminary numbers.
Mukherji is seeking his second term, and Chaparro, a Hoboken city employee, replaces current Assemblyman Carmelo Garcia, who was dropped from the Hudson County Democratic Organization (HCDO) ticket in March and declined to run off the line.
For the Hudson County Executive seat, incumbent Thomas DeGise ran unopposed for the Democrats and Ivan Sutherland ran unopposed for the Republicans. In Hoboken, DeGise received 720 votes and Sutherland received 82, according to the preliminary numbers.
While mail-in and provisional ballots have yet to be counted, it would be inconceivable for any of the candidates to lose their nominations.
Hoboken Democrats also voted for male and female committeepersons for the 40 electoral districts that make up Hoboken. As covered in The Hoboken Reporter last week, the 80-member committee will meet next week to pick the Hoboken Democratic Party chair for the next two years, a position coveted by some local politicos.
The vast majority of candidates for committeeperson ran unopposed on the HCDO line, which was picked by current Hoboken Democratic Party Chairman Jamie Cryan.
Two races were contested. In District 5-3, off-line candidates Phil Cohen and Melissa Abernathy currently lead HCDO candidates Vincent Rossi and Melissa Blanco, while in District 2-2, HCDO candidates Dylan Archilla and Susan Costomiris are barely holding off a challenge from off-liners Kenneth Nilsen and Katherine Prussack.
With margins of less than 50 votes separating each candidate, currently uncounted votes could feasibly swing any of the races.
The nominees for State Assembly and County Executive will face off, along with nonpartisan candidates for Hoboken’s six City Council wards and three seats on the Hoboken school board, in the November 3 general election.

© 2000, Newspaper Media Group